Keeping Score: Revolutions in Music: Beethoven’s Eroica

Keeping Score: Revolutions in Music: Beethoven’s Eroica


Michael Tilson Thomas
San Francisco Symphony

Cat No:



£19.99 (DVD)


A national PBS television series hosted by Michael Tilson Thomas, Keeping Score presents documentary-style episodes aimed at engaging viewers in the compelling stories of composers, their eras, and their most engaging works. The debut series, Revolutions in Music, aired in November 2006 and featured three composers who changed the way music was written in their time, setting the course for musical evolution for the generations that followed.

Produced in partnership with InCA Productions, with concert footage produced by Michael Bronson and directed by Gary Halvorson, the three episodes cover Beethoven’s Symphony No. 3, Eroica, Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring, and Copland’s populist works including Appalachian Spring. Michael Tilson Thomas and the San Francisco Symphony guide viewers through these groundbreaking works that defined the spirit of their era, and reveal the secrets of their continued emotional appeal today. These programs and complete concert performances of the works are preserved on three individual DVDs.



San Francisco Chronicle - Read here...

Related Releases: