San Francisco Symphony at 100

San Francisco Symphony at 100


Itzhak Perlman, violin
Michael Tilson Thomas
San Francisco Symphony

Cat No:

AVSFS 0052


£19.99 (DVD)


San Francisco Symphony at 100 documents the glorious festivities of the orchestra’s centenary year, celebrated at the orchestra’s extravagant 2011-12 season opening night gala concert. With Music Director Michael Tilson Thomas at the helm, the evening symbolised the orchestra’s heritage, its importance in the life of the city as well as the American and international musical landscape, and highlighted supreme American musicians as well as the virtuosic members of the orchestra. The programme opens and closes with two American compositional giants – Aaron Copland and John Adams. The great violinist Itzhak Perlman unleashes his virtuosity on Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto. And the orchestra members shine in Britten’s Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra. Interspersed are documentary vignettes – hosted by Amy Tan (author of the famed Joy Luck Club) – tracing the history of the Symphony which like a phoenix rose out of the ashes of the city’s devastating earthquake in 1906, revitalised San Francisco’s cultural life and quickly set the orchestra on the world’s musical stage.


Aaron COPLAND (1900 – 1990)
Billy the Kid Ballet Suite
Felix MENDELSSOHN (1809 – 1847)
Violin Concerto in E minor
featuring Itzhak Perlman
Benjamin BRITTEN (1913 – 1976)
The Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra
John ADAMS (b. 1947)
Short Ride in a Fast Machine

Hosted by author Amy Tan and performed live before an audience at Davies Symphony Hall in San Francisco, September 7, 2011.
Includes vignettes documenting the Symphony’s 100-year history.

Related Releases: