The Baroque Lute

The Baroque Lute


Andrew Maginley, lute

Cat No:



£7.49 40% off - Limited time only!


Andrew Maginley cuts a striking figure in the placid world of lute playing. He towers well over six feet, even without his height-enhancing cowboy boots. Often leather-clad, his curly black locks loosely frame a complexion that conveys his Afro-Caribbean, Celtic and Native American ancestry, his probing dark eyes deep in thought. An imposing presence to be sure, but beneath is a gentle giant. With a lute in his generous hands, Andrew is a soulful, intensely communicative and intelligent artist, a natural at his chosen discipline in the intricate and refined world of 17th- and 18th-century Europe. Andrew focuses primarily on repertoire for the D minor baroque lute which benefited from contributions by the three composers on this CD. The centrepiece is the magnificent D minor Sonata by Sylvius Leopold Weiss, who was a friend of J S Bach, whose First Cello Suite Maginley has masterfully transcribed. Finishing the CD is a delightful rococo F major Sonata by their slightly younger contemporary Adam Falckenhagen. Andrew previously appeared on Avie as director of period-instrument ensemble The Frolick on Calliope: English Songbooks of the 1700s, with contralto Emma Curtis (AV 2102).


J. S. BACH (1685 – 1750)
Cello Suite No. 1, BWV1007
1. Prelude (2:26)
2. Allemande (4:38)
3. Courante (3:22)
4. Sarabande (2:45)
5. Minuet I, II (2:50)
6. Gigue (1.55)

Sylvius Leopold WEISS (1687 – 1750)
Sonata No. 36 in D minor
7. Fantasia (1:36)
8. Allemande (5:22)
9. Courante (3.20)
10. Gavotte (2:32)
11. Sarabande (3:37)
12. Menuet (2:54)
13. Giga (4:15)

Adam FALCKENHAGEN (1697 – 1754)
Sonata No. 5 in F Major
14. Largo (5:33)
15. Allegro (3:42)
16. Vivace (3:48)
Total time: 55:09

Recorded 22, 24 June, 26, 28 July and 4 October 2004, at Evangelische Kirche, Horn, Bremen
Recording Producer: Andrew Maginley
Tonmeisterin: Gabriele Starke / Session engineer: H. Müller

Related Releases: