Beethoven: Complete Music for Piano & Cello

Beethoven: Complete Music for Piano & Cello

Release Date:

26th May 2008

Cat No:



£19.49 (2 CDs)


“…a wonderful testament to the exemplary partnership that has developed between cellist Antonio Menses and pianist Menahem Pressler over the past decade” - ★★★★ BBC Music Magazine

“Menahem Pressler and Antonio Meneses offer us a rare listening privilege, with playing that is at once intimate, conversational, reposeful, intelligent and, above all, simple in its musical intentions” – Gramophone

“These are great, illuminating performances” – Fanfare


Beaux Arts Trio founder Menahem Pressler and fellow Beaux Arts member, cellist Antonio Meneses, join forces on this special recording of Beethoven’s complete music for cello and piano. The special 2-disc set was released to coincide with the Beaux Arts Trio’s extensive farewell concert tour in 2008. Both artists are consummate chamber musicians and Mr. Meneses considers this recording collaboration to be a “dream come true.” Pressler and Meneses have been performing the complete cycle of sonatas around the world to the delight of audiences and critics alike.



Complete works for Piano and Cello

CD 1

Sonata for Piano and Cello Op. 5, No. 1 in F major
1. Andante sostenuto – Allegro (18:37)
2. Allegro vivace (7:17)

Sonata for Piano and Cello Op. 5, No. 2 in G minor
3. Adagio sostenuto ed espressivo – (5:37)
4. Allegro molto più tosto presto (14:11)
5. Rondo: Allegro (9:10)

6. Twelve Variations on ‘See the conqu’ring hero comes’ from Handel’s Judas Maccabaeus WoO45 in G major (13:05)

7. Twelve Variations on ‘Ein Mädchen oder Weibchen’ from Mozart’s Die Zauberflöte Op.66 in F major (10:24)

CD 2

Sonata for Piano and Cello Op. 69 in A major
1. Allegro, ma non tanto )13:08)
2. Scherzo: Allegro molto (5:57)
3. Adagio cantabile – Allegro vivace (8:53)

Sonata for Piano and Cello Op. 102, No. 1 in C major
4. Andante – Allegro vivace (7:48)
5. Adagio – Tempo d’Andante (3:06)
6. Allegro vivace (4:25)

Sonata for Piano and Cello Op. 102, No. 2 in D major
7. Allegro con brio (7:10)
8. Adagio con molto sentimento d’affetto (9:02)
9. Allegro fugato (4:38)

10. Seven Variations on ‘Bei Männern, welche Liebe fühlen’ from Mozart’s Die Zauberflöte WoO46 in E flat major (10:10)

Recorded 18 – 22 December 2007, at Potton Hall, Suffolk, England
Recording Producer and Engineer: Simon Fox-Gál