Liszt – The Art of Remembering **

Liszt – The Art of Remembering **


Olivia Sham, piano

Release Date:

6th November 2015

Cat No:



£7.79 | 40% discount (usual price £12.99)


AVIE introduces Australian-born pianist Olivia Sham, now a resident of London where she recently completed a doctorate degree at the Royal Academy of Music. Her debut recording, Liszt: The Art of Remembering, explores links between Franz Liszt’s evolving compositional technique and the development of the nineteenth-century piano. She performs early works including Etudes d’exécution transcendante and the arrangement of Marche au supplice from Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique on two different Parisian Érard pianos from the 1840s, and later works such as Valse oubliée on a modern, model D Steinway.


FRANZ LISZT (1811–1886)

1.  Valse oubliée no.1, S.215
2.  Etudes pour le piano-forte en quarante-huit exercices dans tous les tons majeurs et mineurs, S.136
3.  Petite valse favorite, S.212
4.  Valse oubliée no.2, S.215
5.  Etudes d’exécution transcendante, S.139 IX. Ricordanza
6.  Symphonie fantastique op.4 (Berlioz), S.470 IV. Marche au supplice
7.  Liebesträum no.2 ‘Seliger tod’, S.541
8.  Valse oubliée no.3, S.215
9.  Etudes d’exécution transcendante, S.139 VII. Eroica
10.  Etudes d’exécution transcendante, S.139 VIII. Wilde Jagd
11.  Apparitions no.1, S.155
12.  En rêve, nocturne, S.207
13.  Valse oubliée no.4, S.215
14.  Schlaflos, Frage und Antwort, S.203
15.  Trauervorspiel und Trauermarsch, S.206
16.  Bagatelle sans tonalité, S.216
17.  Fünf kleine klavierstück, S.192 V. Sospiri!
18.  Fünf kleine klavierstück, S.192 I. [Sehr langsam]

Recording engineer: Philip Hobbs
Recording producer: Daniel-Ben Pienaar
Editing: Olivia Sham
Mastering: Philip Hobbs
Recorded on 29 September 2014 (Hatchlands Park), 6-7 October 2014 (Royal Academy of Music Museum) and 29 October 2014 (Potton Hall)