Bach: Mass in B Minor

Bach: Mass in B Minor

Release Date:

22nd March 2024

Cat No:



£24.99 (2CD Digipak Deluxe | 24 page booklet)



San Francisco-based early music ensemble Cantata Collective continues its major series of J.S. Bach’s choral works with the Mass in B Minor, a towering testament of sacred music and the composer’s crowning achievement of his final years. With celebrated conductor Nicholas McGegan, four of today’s most distinguished early music vocal soloists and a refined chamber choir, this live recording exudes a spontaneity that reveals the depth and passion of Bach’s glorious affirmation of faith.



Mass in B Minor, BWV 232

I. Missa (Kyrie & Gloria)
1. Kyrie eleison 9.36
2. Christie eleison 4.54
3. Kyrie eleison II 3.20
4. Gloria in excelsis Deo 1.51
5. Et in terra pax 4.31
6. Laudamus te 4.18
7. Gratias agimus tibi 2.52
8. Domine Deus 5.31
9. Qui tollis peccata mundi 2.40
10. Qui sedes ad dexteram Patris 4.14
11. Quoniam tu solus sanctus 4.26 *
12. Cum Sancto Spiritu 4.24

II. Symbolum Nicenum (Credo)
13. Credo in unum Deum 2.01
14. Patrem omnipotentem 2.03
15. Et in unum Dominum 4.27
16. Et incarnatus est 2.34
17. Crucifixus 2.38
18. Et resurrexit 4.14
19. Et in Spiritum Sanctum 5.35
20. Confiteor 4.33
21. Et expecto 2.17

III. Sanctus
22. Sanctus – Pleni sunt coeli 4.58

IV. Osanna, Benedictus, Agnus Dei et Dona nobis pacem
23. Osanna 2.49
24. Benedictus 5.04
25. Osanna 2.52
26. Agnus Dei 5.20
27. Dona nobis pacem 3.06

Total Duration: 107.11

Sherezade Panthakisoprano
Rhianna Cockrellmezzo-soprano
Thomas Cooleytenor
Paul Max Tiptonbass-baritone
Todd Williams, horn obligato *

Cantata Collective
Nicholas McGeganconductor/harpsichord

Recorded (LIVE): 20 March 2023, First Congregational Church of Berkeley, California
Recording production, engineering, editing and mixing: David v.R. Bowles (Swineshead Productions, LLC)
Assistant engineer and Atmos authoring: Margaret Tobin (Dolby Laboratories, San Francisco)
Production assistants: Adam Yosef, Dan Strauther, Anthon Martos (University of Silicon Valley, San Jose)

Related Releases: