Conversazioni II: Duelling Cantatas **

Conversazioni II: Duelling Cantatas **


Sounds Baroque
Anna Dennis, soprano
Andrew Radley, countertenor
Julian Perkins, harpsichord, director

Release Date:

13th January 2014

Cat No:



£7.79 | 40% discount (usual price £12.99)


Following an acclaimed first release in a series called Conversazioni, exploring the wealth of vocal and instrumental music presented at the artistic gatherings of 18th century Rome’s Arcadian Academy,
 harpsichordist extraordinaire Julian Perkins and his period-instrument ensemble Sounds Baroque follow with an equally scintillating concept album, Duelling Cantatas. Soprano Anna Dennis and countertenor Andrew Radley engage in a contest of style and beauty in cantatas by Handel, Gasparini and Alessandro Scarlatti, likewise the virtuoso instrumentalists in works by Caldara and Domenico Scarlatti. Breathing vibrant life into these spirited scores, Sounds Baroque suitably lives up to its motto, “Music for Then, Living Now.”


Francesco Gasparini (1668–1727)
Io che dal terzo ciel (Venere e Adone)
1. Recitativo
2. Aria
3. Recitativo
4. Aria
5. Recitativo
6. Aria
7. Recitativo
8. Aria per due
9. Recitativo
10. Aria per due
11. Recitativo
12. Aria
13. Recitativo
14. Aria per due

Antonio Caldara (c1670–1736)
Trio sonata in E minor, op. 1, no. 5 (1693)
15. Grave
16. Vivace
17. Adagio
18. Vivace

Attributed to George Frideric Handel (1685–1759)
19. Rondeau in G major

(Giuseppe) Domenico Scarlatti (1685–1757)
20. Sonata in G major, K 63

(Pietro) Alessandro (Gaspare) Scarlatti (1660–1725)
Questo silenzio ombroso (Il Sonno)
21. Largo
22. Adagio
23. Adagio – [Andante] – Adagio – Andante Moderato

D. Scarlatti
24. Sonata in D minor, K 32

G. F. Handel
25. Sonata in G major (alternative version of HWV 579)

G. F. Handel
Amarilli vezzosa (Il duello amoroso), HWV 82
26. Sinfonia – Allegro – Adagio
27. Menuetto
28. Recitativo
29. Aria
30. Recitativo
31. Aria
32. Recitativo
33. Aria
34. Recitativo
35. Aria – Largo
36. Recitativo
37. Aria per due

Related Releases: