Late Piano Pieces

Late Piano Pieces


Markus Groh, piano

Cat No:


Out of Stock


Markus Groh’s AVIE debut was a towering account of Liszt’s B Minor Sonata coupled with the B-A-C-H Fantasy and Totentanz (AV 2097), exhibiting “transcendental technique, power in reserve, an instinctive grasp of structure and the ability to take risks,” according to Classic FM Magazine. He follows with an enlightening contrast, the complete late piano works by Brahms, Op. 116 – 119, in which he once again displays supreme control combined with utmost sensitivity.


Johannes BRAHMS (1833 – 1897)
3 Intermezzi, Op. 117
1. I Andante moderato, Più Adagio, Un poco più Andante (5:16)
2. II Andante non troppo e con molta espressione, Più Adagio (5:00)
3. III Andante con moto (6:33)

Fantasien, Op. 116
4. I Capriccio, Presto energico (2:11)
5. II Intermezzo, Andante, Non troppo presto, Andante (3:41)
6. III Capriccio, Allegro passionato, Un poco meno Allegro, Tempo I (3:06)
7. IV Intermezzo, Adagio (5:23)
8. V Intermezzo, Andante con grazia ed intimissimo sentimento (3:02)
9. VI Intermezzo, Andantino teneramente (3:25)
10. VII Capriccio, Allegro agitato (2:11)

Klavierstücke, Op. 118
11. I Intermezzo, Allegro non assai, ma molto appassionato (1:51)
12. II Intermezzo, Andante teneramente, Più lento, Tempo I (5:37)
13. III Ballade, Allegro energico (3:37)
14. IV Intermezzo, Allegretto un poco agitato (2:32)
15. V Romanze, Andante, Allegretto grazioso, Tempo I (3:54)
16. VI Intermezzo, Andante, largo e mesto (5:45)

Klavierstücke, Op. 119
17. I Intermezzo, Adagio (4:17)
18. II Intermezzo, Andantino un poco agitato, Andantino grazioso, Tempo I (4:57)
19. III Intermezzo, Grazioso e giocoso (1:39)
20. IV Rhapsodie, Allegro risoluto (5:08)
Total time: 79:05

Recorded May 2007, Reitstadel-Neumart/Oberpfalz, Germany
Producer: Elmar Zilberman
Sound engineer and editing: Stephan Schellmann


- Read here...

Related Releases: