Mozart: Sonatas & Rondos

Mozart: Sonatas & Rondos


Marcia Hadjimarkos, fortepiano

Release Date:

30th July 2007

Cat No:



£7.49 (1CD Jewel Case | 32-page booklet) | 40% off - Limited time only!


Mozart recordings may abound, but there will always be room and demand for a first-class disc of his music such as this one. Marcia Hadjimarkos originally hailed from the USA, but now makes her home in France. Known as a specialist performer on historical keyboard instruments, she plays a superb 1992 copy by Christopher Clarke of a 1793 fortepiano originally made by Sebastian Lengerer in Kufstein, Tyrol, itself inspired by the pioneering builders, Stein of Augsburg. Marcia’s recording of Haydn Sonatas played on the clavichord on the Zig-Zag Territoires label was awarded a Diapason d’Or. On this recording, the three great Mozart Sonatas – K. 457, K. 333 and K.545 – are interspersed by three Rondos – K. 494, K. 485 and K. 511 to make up a very generous offering. The recording has been produced by the much respected specialist in early music and period performance, Père Casulleras.



Sonata in C Minor, K.457
1. I Molto allegro (6:42)
2. II Adagio (8:56)
3. III Allegro assai (4:56)
4. Rondo in F Major, KV 494 (7:10)

Sonata in C Major, K.545
5. I Allegro (3:37)
6. II Andante (5:15)
7. III Rondo (Allegretto) (1:51)
8. Rondo in D Major, KV 485 (6:12)

Sonata in B Flat Major, K.333 (315c)
9. I Allegro (8:02)
10. II Andante cantabile (6:09)
11. III Allegretto grazioso (6:54)
12. Rondo in A Minor, KV 511 (10:37)

Total duration: 76:21

Recorded 24 – 27 August 2004 in Chenôves, France

Related Releases: