Vivaldi: The Four Seasons • Concertos for Bassoon and Violin ‘in tromba marina’

Vivaldi: The Four Seasons • Concertos for Bassoon and Violin ‘in tromba marina’


Adrian Chandlerviolin/director
Peter Whelan, bassoon
La Serenissima

Release Date:

4th September 2015

Cat No:



£12.99 (1CD | 36 page booklet)



“…an intensely dramatic account that will add new spice to what has for many listeners perhaps come to resemble a dreary domestic relationship.” – Gramophone (Editor’s Choice)

“This is an ensemble that clearly loves Vivaldi. Their energy, enthusiasm and passion for the music shines through and casts a new light on a very familiar work.” – Classic FM

The Sheer joy of musicianship on display here draws us in and keeps us fully engrossed.” – MusicWeb 

  • Gramophone Awards: Baroque Instrumental – Nomination
  • BBC Music Magazine: Concerto Choice
  • BBC Radio 3 – Building a Library: Recommendation


The Four Seasons are some of the most famous works from Italian baroque composer Antonio Vivaldi, as such, it is the perfect music to celebrate La Serenissima’s 21st anniversary. Published as part of his Opus 8 in 1725,  Vivaldi’s Four Seasons were quick to gain popularity. The composer’s autograph manuscript has since been lost, but in Manchester, UK, there survives a set of parts in the hand of Vivaldi’s father which possibly reflect an earlier version of The Four Seasons. Being an earlier version it is likely that this manuscript will reflect the Antonio Vivaldi’s intention more fully. For this reason Adrian Chandler transcribed the version of The Four Seasons found on this album from the Manuscript found in the Henry Watson Library in Manchester.

Also on this album, La Serenissima are joined by Peter Whelan on Bassoon for Concerto La Notte and Concerto per Maestro de Morzin; and Adrian Chandler performs the world premiere recordings of Vivaldi’s Concertos for violin in tromba marina in D and G.

La Serenissima specialises in the historical performance of music by Italian baroque composers, of which Vivaldi’s Four Seasons, is possibly one of the most well-known pieces. The Four Seasons is truly a celebration worthy of their 21st anniversary.



Le Quattro Stagioni (The Four Seasons) - Manchester version

Concerto No. 1 in E Major for Violin, Strings & Continuo in E Major, RV 269 “La primavera” (spring)
1. I. Allegro
2. II. Largo
3. III. Allegro

Concerto No. 2 for Violin, Strings & Continuo in G Minor, RV 315 “L’estate” (summer)
4. I. Allegro non molto – Allegro
5. II. Adagio – Presto – Adagio
6. III. Presto

Concerto No. 3 for Violin, Strings & Continuo in F Major, RV 293 “L’autunno” (autumn)
7. I. Allegro – Larghetto – Allegro assai/molto
8. II. Adagio molto
9. III. Allegro

Concerto No. 4 for Violin, Strings & Continuo in F Minor, RV 297 “L’inverno” (winter)
10. I. Allegro non molto
11. II. Largo
12. III. Allegro – Lento – Allegro

Concerto for Bassoon, Strings & Continuo in B flat Major, RV 501 “La Notte”
13. I. Largo – Andante molto
14. II. Presto: Fantasmi – Presto – Adagio
15. III. Adagio: Il Sonno
16. IV. Allegro: Sorge l’Aurora

Concerto for Violin ‘in tromba marina’, Strings & Continuo in D Major, RV 221
17. I. Allegro
18. II. Andante
19. III. Allegro

Concerto ‘per Maestro dè Morzin’ for Bassoon, Strings & Continuo in G Minor, RV 496
20. I. Allegro
21. II. Largo
22. III. Allegro

Concerto for Violin ‘in tromba marina’, Strings & Continuo in G Major, RV 311
23. I. Allegro
24. II. Andante
25. III. Allegro

Adrian Chandlerviolin/director • Peter Whelanbassoon
La Serenissima

Recorded 21–24 April 2015, Hospital of St. Cross Winchester
Producer: Simon Fox-Gal

Related Releases: