A Violin’s Life: Volume 3 – Music for the Lipiński Stradivari

A Violin’s Life: Volume 3 – Music for the Lipiński Stradivari

Release Date:

2nd June 2023

Cat No:



£12.99 (1CD | 20 page booklet)



“This is one of the very finest readings of [the Grieg] sonata that I have heard, and Almond draws a full-throated sound from his magnificent instrument. Adam Neiman is a sensitive partner who doesn’t hide in the background … excellent sound” – American Record Guide

“very fine performances of some enjoyably contrasted works make the CD well worth hearing for chamber-music lovers” – Infodad

“attractive due to the violin’s distinctive, meaty tone … an essential release”. – allmusic.com

“memorable and most enjoyable performances; a recording to be treasured” – Stringendo


Frank Almond’s life is intertwined with that of his violin, the “Lipiński” Strad, an exceptional instrument named for the famed 19th-century Polish violinist Karol Lipiński and first owned by legendary 18th-century Italian composer-violinist Giuseppe Tartini, represented on A Violin’s Life, Volume 3 by his Sonata Prima in D, Op. 2, a trio sonata in all but name. The masterful Piano Trio in E flat by 19th-century Swedish virtuosa Amanda Maier connects with the instrument that had passed on to her future father-in-law Engelbert Röntgen. Another great Nordic composer, Edvard Grieg, opens the album with his great Sonata No. 3 in C minor.

The legend of the Lipiński Strad went viral in 2014 when, following a concert, walking towards his car, Frank Almond was tasered by an assailant and the prized instrument was stolen. An FBI pursuit resulted in the recovery of the instrument within weeks. International media ensued on the BBC, NPR, and a feature in Vanity Fair. An award-winning documentary film “Plucked” premiered at the 2019 Tribeca Film Festival.

Frank Almond’s critically acclaimed and chart-topping recordings of A Violin’s Life are now a trilogy. The “Lipiński” Strad lives on.


EDVARD GRIEG (1843–1907)
Sonata No. 3 in C minor Op. 45
1. I. Allegro molto ed appassionato (9.09)
2. II. Allegretto espressivo alla Romanza (6.29)
3. III. Allegro animato (7.54)

AMANDA MAIER (1853–1894)
Piano Trio in E flat
4.  I. Allegro (8.51)
5.  II. Scherzo (4.47)
6.  III. Andante (5.08)
7.  IV. Finale: Allegro con fuoco (7.30)

Sonata Prima in D Op. 2/1 B.D13
8. I. Andante cantabile (4.30)
9.  II. Allegro (4.14)
10.  III. Affettuoso (2.47)
11. IV. Allegro assai (4.14)

Recorded: 2 November 2019 (Grieg) & 2 June 2021 (Maier & Tartini), Guarneri Hall, Chicago
Recording Producer: Richard Walters
Recording Engineer, Mastering and Editing: Christopher Willis

Related Releases: