Myrtle & Rose – Songs by Clara and Robert Schumann

Myrtle & Rose – Songs by Clara and Robert Schumann


Kyle Stegall, tenor
Eric Zivian, fortepiano

Release Date:

5th July 2019

Cat No:






“Stegall has a sweet-toned, attractive sound, with moments of great tenderness and beauty.” – BBC Music Magazine

“[Stegall is] an outstanding communicator – a passionate and engaged one, too…There is nothing I the performances that isn’t done with care and intelligence.” – Gramophone

“Stegall combines his ripe lyric tenor with poetic intelligence, while Zivian’s contribution on a silvery-toned 1841 Rausch fortepiano comes across with crystalline clarity.” – The Sunday Times


Myrtle & Rose – the title taken from the Heinrich Heine poem which Robert Schumann set as the final song of his Liederkreis, Op. 24 – features two of his most beloved song cycles (the other being Liederkreis, Op. 39) along with several rarely-recorded songs by his wife Clara. The album beautifully captures the artistic partnership of tenor Kyle Stegall and fortepianist Eric Zivian, who first collaborated at the Valley of the Moon Music Festival in Sonoma, California. Stegall’s “lovely tone and ardent expression” (The New York Times) and Eric Zivian’s original 1841 Rausch fortepiano from Vienna – built exactly when the songs were written – combine in these inspired and illuminating interpretations. The release celebrates the 200th anniversary of the birth of Clara Schumann. A unique bonus is the inclusion of Kyle Stegall’s new English translations of the sung texts in the booklet.



Liederkreis, Op. 39
1. I. In der Fremde (2.06)
2. II. Intermezzo (1.53)
3. III. Waldesgespräch (2.31)
4. IV. Die Stille (1.40)
5. V. Mondnacht (3.31)
6. VI. Schöne Fremde (1.20)
7. VII. Auf einer Burg (2.56)
8. VIII. In der Fremde (1.27)
9. IX. Wehmut (2.28)
10. X. Zwielicht (2.58)
11. XI. Im Walde (1.30)
12. XII. Frühlingsnacht (1.22)

CLARA SCHUMANN (1819–1896)

13. Ich stand in dunklen Träumen, Op. 13, No. 1 (2.09)
14. Lorelei (2.25)
15. Mein Stern (1.56)
16. Liebst du um Schönheit (2.22)
17. O Lust, o Lust, Op. 23, No. 6 (1.53)


Liederkreis, Op. 24
18. I. Morgens steh’ ich auf (1.13)
19. II. Es treibt mich hin (1.24)
20. III. Ich wandelte unter den Bäumen (3.23)
21. IV. Lieb’ Liebchen (1.09)
22. V. Schöne Wiege meiner Leiden (4.30)
23. VI. Warte, warte, wilder Schiffsmann (2.06)
24. VII. Berg’ und Burgen schau’n herunter (4.14)
25. VIII. Anfangs wollt’ ich fast verzagen (1.00)
26. IX. Mit Myrthen und Rosen (4.11)
Total time: 59.40

Recorded May 22-24, 2018, Trianon Theatre, San Jose, CA
Recording production, engineering, editing and mastering: David v.R. Bowles (Swineshead Productions, LLC)

Related Releases: