Bach: Flute Sonatas **

Bach: Flute Sonatas **


Philippa Davies, flute
Maggie Cole, harpsichord
Allison McGillivray, cello

Cat No:



£7.79 | 40% discount (usual price £12.99)


Three of the UK’s most distinguished instrumentalists come together for a stellar recording of some of the brightest chamber music from the baroque era. Joining flautist Philippa Davies are cellist Alison McGillivray and harpsichordist Maggie Cole for a selection of sonatas that have been central to the repertoire of successive generations of the flautists since Bach penned them in the first half of the 18th century, around the time that the transverse flute came into fashion and the master of counterpoint found he had a range of technical and expressive qualities and tonal colours newly available to him. Davies, Cole and McGillivray are all well known recording artists who between them have garnered numerous Gramophone Awards and Grammy nominations as well as wide-spread critical acclaim. They revel in Bach’s fancy finger work, producing a performance that is full of light and grace, always with an air of distinction.


J S BACH (1685 – 1750)
Sonata in b minor, BWV 1030 (17:28)
1. I Andante (8:13)
2. II Largo e dolce (3:36)
3. III Presto – Allegro (5:39)
Sonata in E major, BWV 1035 (11:32)
4. I Adagio ma non tanto (2:16)
5. II Allegro (2:54)
6. III Siciliano (3:23)
7. IV Allegro assai (2:59)
Sonata in A major, BWV 1032 (12:32)
8. I Vivace (5:40)
9. II Largo e dolce (2:42)
10. III Allegro (4:10)
Sonata in e minor, BWV 1034 (13:21)
11. I Adagio ma non tanto (2:51)
12. II Allegro (2:32)
13. III Andante (3:27)
14. IV Allegro (4:30)
Sonata in E flat major, BWV 1031 (8:45)
15. I Allegro moderato (3:30)
16. II Siciliano (2:02)
17. III Allegro (3:12)
Total time: 64:11

Recorded 22 – 24 March 2005, at Potton Hall, Suffolk
Produced and Edited by Annette Isserlis
Engineered and Edited by Ben Connellan