Dvořák: Love Songs Op. 83 • Piano Quintet Op. 81 • Cypresses for String Quartet **

Dvořák: Love Songs Op. 83 • Piano Quintet Op. 81 • Cypresses for String Quartet **

Release Date:

21st November 2011

Cat No:



£7.79 (1CD Jewel Case | 24-page booklet) | 40% discount (usual price £12.99)


“A great programming idea, this…[Kucerova is] a vocal epitome of amatory responsiveness…Throughout the entire performance there’s no mistaking the leader of the pack: one is always aware of listening to an excellent quartet and an exceptional pianist. Absolutely no harm in that!” – Editor’s Choice, Gramophone

“[Eschenbach] is still a magnificent player, as witness his ability to make Dvorak’s occasionally awkward piano writing sound like spun silk…the Quintet sounds utterly enchanting in this gloriously unhurried reading” – ★★★★ Classic FM

“The playing in the quartet arrangements and the Quintet is very fine” – BBC Music Magazine


“Think about a young man in love – this is what they are about,” wrote Dvořák to his publisher when he was preparing Cypresses for string quartet. The title is taken from a volume of poems by Gustav Pfleger-Moravsky which inspired the composer’s earlier burst of song writing in 1865, eight of which later became the cycle Love Songs Op. 83, and 12 of which were arranged for string quartet, five of them presented here. Recalling youthful love letters that are preserved and cherished, Love Songs and Cypresses combine beautiful melodic simplicity with the technique of a composer who was, by the mid-late 1880s, at the height of his powers. Cypresses in their string quartet form were premiered on 6 January 1888, on a bill which also featured the first performance of the Piano Quintet, Op 81.

The Paris-based Quatuor Thymos – named after an ancient Greek term meaning “spiritedness” – comprises four First Prize winners from the Paris and Lyon conservatoires. Following acclaimed performances throughout France and in other European capitols, they were invited to perform at the Ravinia Festival in Chicago by Christoph Eschenbach. This recording brings the foursome together with the eminent pianist, who also accompanies the Slovakian soprano Adriana Kucerova whose star is rapidly in the ascendant.


ANTONIN DVOŘÁK (1841–1904)

Písně milostné [Love Songs] Op. 83 B160
1. O naši lásce nekvete [Never will love lead us] (2:07)
2. V tak mnohém srdci mrtvo jest [Death reigns] (2:22)
3. Kol domu se ted’ potácím [I wander oft] (1:27)
4. Já vím, že v sladké naději [I know that on my love] (2:22)
5. Nad krajem vévodi lehký spánek [Nature lies peaceful] (1:51)
6. Zde v lese u potoka [In deepest forest glade] (2:05)
7. V té sladké moci [When thy sweet glances] (1:56)
8. Ó duše drahá jedinká [Thou only dear one] (1:46)

Cypřiše [Cypresses] B152
9. No. 1 Já vím, že v sladké naději: Moderato (4:23)
10. No. 2 V tak mnohém srdci mrtvo jest: Allegro ma non troppo (2:32)
11. No. 8 Zde v lese u potoka: Lento (3:07)
12. No.9 Ó duše drahá jedinká: Moderato (3:18)
13. No.11 Nad krajem vévodi lehký spánek: Allegro scherzando (2:41)

Piano Quintet in A major, Op. 81 B155
14. I Allegro ma non tanto (14:06)
15. II Dumka: Andante con moto (16:33)
16. III Scherzo (Furiant): Molto vivace (4:17)
17. IV Finale: Allegro (7:46)

Total duration: 75:19

Thymos Quartet
Adriana Kucerovasoprano
Christoph Eschenbach, piano

Love Songs recorded 27 October 2010 at Théâtre de Fountaineblau, France
The Cypresses recorded 25 March 2011 at Temple de l’Annociation, Paris
Piano Quintet recorded 4 and 9 May 2011 at Eglise du Bon Secours, Paris
Recording producer and engineer: François Eckert
Assistant engineers: Étienne Graindorge (Love Songs), Virginie Burgun (The Cypresses, Piano Quintet)

Related Releases: