Piano Quintet, Märchenbilder, Fünf Stücke im Volkston

Piano Quintet, Märchenbilder, Fünf Stücke im Volkston


Benvenue Fortepiano Trio

Release Date:

9th September 2016

Cat No:





The Benvenue Fortepiano Trio’s acclaimed accounts of Schumann’s Piano Trios opened the ears of chamber music devotees with the crystalline textures of its period instruments and the drawing-room intimacy of its interpretations. Anchored by Grammy®-nominated violinist Monica Huggett, the members of the Trio continue exploring Schumann’s chamber music with cellist Tanya Tomkins and fortepianist Eric Zivian performing Fünf Stücke im Volkston, guest violist Jodi Levitz and Zivian in Märchenbilder, and the forces coming together for the capstone of the composer’s chamber output, his Piano Quintet.

critical acclaim for the Benvenue Fortepiano Trio
“Benvenue make an exceptional case for the use of the fortepiano in place of the modern piano … they perform with a level of gusto and brazenness seldom heard in modern instrument ensembles … intensity, commitment, and unfettered navigation of Schumann’s scores” – AllMusic (on Schumann Piano Trios Nos. 1 and 3)

“the trio’s choice of instruments also reflects an enlightened view of the music … rare combination of elasticity and emotional involvement … You’ll be completely taken in and involved in the Benvenue Trio’s music-making. It is as if these musicians are not the ones communicating with you, but Robert Schumann himself.” – Fanfare (on Schumann Piano Trio No. 2)


Robert Schumann (1810 – 1856)
1. Nicht schnell (3:29)
2. Lebhaft (3:58)
3. Rasch (2:32)
4. Langsam (5:26)

Stücke im Volkston
5. Mit Humor (3:05)
6. Langsam (3:21)
7. Nicht schnell (4:13)
8. Nicht zu rasch (1:53)
9. Stark und markiert (3:00)

Piano Quintet in E-Flat Major, Op. 44
10. Allegro brilliante (9:04)
11. In modo d’un Marcia (7:50)
12. Scherzo (4:51)
13. Allegro ma non troppo (7:06)

Total timing: 59:48

Recorded 26 – 30 January 2016, Sonoma State University, Rohnert Park, California
Producer: David v.R. Bowles


Related Releases: